Beadwork – April/May 2010

This is a great cover! It’s nice and clean, not too cluttered, yet eye-catching.

In bead buzz,,, I was drawn to the write-up for Minerva Spirals. I’ve always wanted that book. We just happen to have family coming to visit from England. So, I’ve asked them to try to get me a copy and bring it when they come. 🙂

Didn’t learn anything new from the stitch pro (Jean Campbell). But, I do love me some herringbone! It was the hardest stitch for me to master.  It just never looked right. But, I kept trying and by looking at every herringbone direction I could lay my hands on, I finally figured it out.

I thought the Spring Blossoms project by Melinda Barta (again!) was great. There are some wonderful whispering flower brass connectors used in it. Melinda always uses the coolest findings.

Sweet Bumblebee by Nancy Cain is so cute! I think it would look great with a bunch of beaded flowers.

Fire Flower bracelet by Carole Ohl is a flower project without being too flowery. I’m not much for flower jewelry. A little goes a long way, in my opinion.

Then we get to Sequin Shimmer by Cindi Slater. OOOOHHHH I love this! I will definitely make this if I can find all the cool metal sequins and disks.

Modern Vintage by Barbara Falkowitz and Amy Haftkowycz is the cover project. It has great use of beaded beads and brass chain, rings, toggle and connectors. This has an antique look to me.

Calypso Fans bracelet by Kathie Rutledge is a very fun project. It screams Cinco de Mayo to me.

I thought the Happy-Go-Lucky cuff by Kelly Angeley was exceptional. I haven’t had the guts to do bead embroidery yet. It scares me. I get a physical reaction just thinking about it. BUT, I can still appreciate it!

This issue ends with the Bead Artist article (by Tina Koyama) about Dan Adams and Cynthia Toops. This couple are artists in the truest sense. He’s into glass and she’s into polymer clay. Their collaborative pieces are spectacular. I really liked Flora II. Each bead in the necklace is different and yet they are all cohesive.

2 thoughts on “Beadwork – April/May 2010

    • Thank you for the words of encouragement. I’m sure when/if I ever try it, I’ll break out in a cold sweat and have a knot in my stomach. 😀 I have a friend who does beautiful bead embroidery that has offered to teach me. I’ll be sure to post pictures when I give it a try.

      Like

Leave a Reply

